Teacher Innovator Awards

Recognizing America’s Most Innovative Teachers

Do you know a teacher who has inspired others to challenge the limits of what’s possible? Who encourages others to create bold solutions?

We’re looking for teachers who demonstrate the habits of an innovator. Teachers who inspire their students to challenge the rules and take risks, who demonstrate how to be collaborative and empathetic, and teach the value of learning from staying curious and learning from failure. 


Grand Prize : 10 Awarded

Innovation Immersion Experience at The Henry Ford, including round-trip airfare, accommodations, behind-the-scenes tours with curators, recognition ceremony, and more. 

First Place: 10 Awarded

Innovation Nation Season 1 or 2 DVD, select Innovation Nation and The Henry Ford merchandise and mementos. 

Grand Prize Winners:

  • Sergio de Alba, California
  • Robin Suda, Maryland
  • Kyle McGrath, Michigan
  • Kerryn Henderson, Oregon
  • Rachel Terlop, Virginia
  • Tiffany Bullman, California
  • Shaughn Thomas, Texas
  • Josh Webster, Maryland
  • Kevin Crosby, California
  • Claudine James, Arkansas

First Place Winners:

  • Joy McKarns, Ohio
  • Dr. Todd Brown, Florida
  • Nancy Ernstes, Georgia
  • Rae Hughart, Illinois
  • Jennifer Mead, California
  • Dawn R Haught, Ohio
  • Roberto Gonzalez, Rhode Island
  • Aaron Straus, New York
  • Roshounda Ellerbe, Texas
  • Lauren K. Mikulak, Connecticut

Additional Information

Official Rules (PDF)

Fact Sheet (PDF)


Litton Entertainment and The Henry Ford present The Henry Ford's Innovation Nation, a weekly celebration of the inventor's spirit. Hosted by CBS News correspondent Mo Rocca.

Learn More